Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Living Legends Honored

Living Legends Honored

By Marva Sneed

The 4th Annual Ron E. Bivins “The People’s Servant” Living Legends & Scholarship Banquet was held recently at the Hilton Garden Inn and featured emcee Keith Solis from Smooth 105.7 and keynote speaker Dr. S.J. Gilbert, Sr., Pastor Emeritus, Mt. Sinai Baptist Church Houston, TX.

Bivins greeted everyone with his excitement and joy because of the overwhelming response to the sold-out event. “Praise is what I do! God has been good to me and I give him all the glory and praise. I stand on the shoulders of many people who helped me to become the person I am today,” he said, adding that two weeks before the event he didn’t think that it would sell out.

The 2020 Honorees were: 

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
  • Civil Rights Award: Dr. Peter Johnson 
  • Legal Service Award: Attorney DeMetris Sampson 
  • Community Service Award: Dr. Corey Toney 
  • Dr. Frederick D. Todd Education Award: South Oak Cliff Bear Cave 
  • Humanitarian Award: Dr. Sheila Bailey  
  • Honorable Cleo Steele Award: Dr. Zan Holmes, Jr. 
  • Political Service Award: Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson  
  • The People’s Servant Award: Rev. Dr. C.J.R. Phillips, Jr.

Youth Scholarship recipients are Destini King, Jessika Howard, Mekhi Parker, Raigan Smallwood, and Tyesha Brown.

Bivins said to save the date for the 5th Annual Living Legends & Scholarship Banquet: February 27, 2021.

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse
Written By


Mask It Up

Read The Current Issue

Texas Metro News

Upcoming Events

  1. Poor Peoples Campaign (September 18-19)

    September 18 @ 4:00 pm - September 19 @ 5:00 pm
  2. The World According to Drew, host Andrew Whigham, III (September 19)

    September 19 @ 8:00 am - 10:00 am
  3. MLK Food Park: Phase 3 (September 19)

    September 19 @ 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm
  4. Ubuntu Market for Small Business (September 19)

    September 19 @ 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm
  5. National Congress of Black Women, Inc. 37th Annual Awards Ceremony (September 19)

    September 19 @ 2:00 pm

You May Also Like